Did you know you can teach yourself an easy way to break down each zodiac sign so that each personality type is simple to understand?


As I decided to teach in a previous post entitled “Zodiac Myths to Stop Believing” the zodiac is seasonal, and the ancients added constellations as an observation after the fact. Essentially, when you match each zodiac sign to the nature of each northern hemisphere season, you can teach yourself to create a picture of each personality.



Astrology will teach you that the basic building blocks that define each zodiac sign are called the modalities. Furthermore, these basic concepts are the seeds from which each personality type blooms. Essentially, there are three types of primary modalities: masculine and feminine, the three qualities, and the four elements.


Duality: Masculine and Feminine

In astrology, we teach that each sign is traditionally considered either masculine or feminine. Now, this is not to get mixed up with sex! The ancients defined masculine as that which gives and feminine that which receives. Similarly, the ancients applied the concepts of masculine and feminine to humankind, and all other things, after the fact.

The ancients reasoned that man gives the sperm and the woman receives the sperm, to procreate. Ultimately, this is the core reasoning behind the masculine and feminine concepts when applied to the world.


Masculine represents transmitting. Consequently, the masculine/transmitting signs are Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Aquarius.


Feminine represents receptive. Consequently, the feminine/receptive signs are Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces.


Triplicity: The Three Qualities

In astrology, we teach that there are three core concepts involved in the quality of all things. These concepts are the initial idea, the fruition of the idea, and the ultimate consequence of the idea. Everything has a beginning, middle, and end. And of course, every ending leads to a new start. The cycle of life keeps turning.

Astrology will teach that these three qualities are traditionally called Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. Each zodiac sign is either one of the three:



Cardinal signs are beginners, planners, and leaders. These people come up with fresh ideas and are motivated, at least in the beginning! Sometimes they find it hard to stick to a plan and bring things to completion.

They also signify the start of each season. The Cardinal signs are Aries, which begins spring, Cancer, which begins summer, Libra, which begins autumn, and Capricorn, which begins winter.




Fixed signs are anchored, dedicated and sustained. These people prefer routine and will stubbornly stick to it! However, this stubbornness can sometimes make them shy away from change and new things. They also signify the middle of each season.

The Fixed signs are Taurus, which is the middle of spring, Leo, which is the middle of summer, Scorpio, which is the middle of autumn, and Aquarius, which is the middle of winter.



Mutable signs are adaptable, changeable and unpredictable. These people can sometimes appear to have more than one personality! However, this is because they can see multiple points of view, and are experts at juggling paradox. They love change and get restless if made to stay in the same place for too long.

They also signify the end of each season, just as it begins to evolve into the next. The Mutable signs are Gemini, which is the end of spring, Virgo, which is the end of summer, Sagittarius, which is the end of autumn, and Pisces, which is the end of winter.


Quadruplicity: The Four Elements

The ancients have been using the concepts of the four elements of Fire, Earth, Air, and Water to describe different forces in the universe. These concepts teach the various dimensions that we move between: the spiritual, the physical, the mental and the emotional.

The spiritual is the intangible life force, the physical is the tangible world, the mental is perceptions of the mind, and the emotional is the weather of feelings.


Keep reading …